You can see the ‘s’ in https://greenwire.greenpeace.org indicating that Greenpeace Greenwire is operating on a secure connection.
After 40 minutes of inactivity, you will automatically be logged out, to prevent any confidential information being accessed by unknown users.
The content you generate within the site can only be accessed by users who have completed the registration process and who are logged in. If you post content yourself, you can choose whether it is visible to all logged in users, or only to members of certain groups. You can also moderate access to the groups you create - some groups are ‘open’ (anyone can join), some are moderated (anyone can request to join, but must be approved by the group creator), and some are ‘hidden’ (only people who are invited by the group owner can see the group).
If you are concerned about hacking or surveillance, you should know that content on Greenwire (aside from passwords and personal identifying information, which are encrypted) can be considered as secure as unencrypted email. Greenwire’s private message systems, and information within ‘restricted’ groups, should be considered approximately as secure as unencrypted email, and should not be used for content for which legal risk is a concern.
We hope to enable full encryption further down the road.
Some news and activities can be made ‘public’, so they are visible to people who have not logged in to Greenwire. However, comments on all content - even public content - will only be visible after logging in.